Music and Theater: 2019

Rich and varied, music in Northwest New Jersey is just the ticket for evenings that end on high notes. Your musical destination is never very far away and often the price can't be beat.


Friday, May 17-19 • ACOUSTIC GETAWAY. A three-day musical mini-vacation featuring three concerts, forty workshops & endless jamming. Performers include Frank Vignola, The Slambovian, Underground , David Roth and many more. The Folk Project, Stony Point, NY • www.folkproject.com


Saturday, May 18 • GRAND CANYON ENSEMBLE. The ensemble returns to Raritan River with special guest performers for a program that will highlight music by young composers from the Navajo and Hopi Nations, plus music by Black, Hoover, and others inspired by natural beauty. Harmonica virtuoso Robert Bonfiglio and award-winning flutist Clare Hoffman have dazzled audiences throughout the country. The Thirtieth Raritan River Music Festival, Stockton • 908/213-1100


Sunday, May 19 • RAPTOR TRUST BENEFIT CONCERT AND AUCTION. Benefit dinner, family activites and concert featuring Ross Griswold and the Second Line, Raccoon Ridge Ramblers. Silent auction featuring local crafts and artwork, live hawks and owls on site. The Raptor Trust, Stirling • 908/647-2353


Thursday, May 23 • NEVILLE DICKIE AND THE MIDIRI BROTHERS. Morris Museum Bickford Theater, Morristown • 973/971-3700


Saturday, May 25 • NEWMAN & OLTMAN GUITAR DUO. New Music of the Americas: Compositions from Brazil, Mexico, Cuba, & USA. America’s foremost guitar duo is joined by young Brazilian musical wizards Clarice Assad and João Luiz for a very special festival finale of hot music from throughout the Americas. The Thirtieth Raritan River Music Festival, Stanton • 908/213-1100


Sunday, May 26 • NA'BODACH, THE BAND. Six fabulous celtic musicians, plus electricity. Enjoy the farm’s delicious foods which are available for purchase; BYOB. Bobolink Dairy and Bakeyard, Milford • 908/864-7277


Friday, May 31-2 • CRAWFISH FESTIVAL. MVA Productions, Augusta • 973/948-5500


Friday, May 31-9 • THE CRUCIBLE. First produced in 1953, at a time when America was convulsed by a new epidemic of witch-hunting, Arthur Miller’s play brilliantly explores the threshold between individual guilt and mass hysteria, personal spite and collective evil. It is a play that is not only relentlessly suspenseful and vastly moving but that compels readers to fathom their hearts and consciences in ways that only the greatest theater ever can. Dover Little Theater, Dover • 973/328-9202


Saturday, June 15 • JAKE SHIMABUKURO. The Newton Theatre, Newton • 973/383-3700


Sunday, June 16 • THE LOST RAMBLERS. Bluegrass/Country Shippen Manor Concerts, Oxford • 908/453-4381


Thursday, June 20 • JEFFERSON STARSHIP. The Newton Theatre, Newton • 973/383-3700


Saturday, June 22 • SOURLAND MUSIC FESTIVAL. The festival celebrates the character and beauty of the New Jersey Sourlands and supports planning and conservatory efforts. Sourland Planning Council, Hillsborough • 609/397-1233


Sunday, June 23 • GIRALDA MUSIC AND ARTS FESTIVAL. Music performed by the New Jersey Symphony Orchestra, an art show and sale, a picnic contest with fabulous prizes, kids’ activities, an antique ice cream truck and the relaxed atmosphere of the beautiful lawns of the former Dodge estate. Rainsite at the Mennen Arena Morris Arts, Madison • 973/285-5115


Sunday, June 23 • DREW NUGENT & MIDNIGHT SOCIETY. 1920s & 30s Jazz Shippen Manor Concerts, Oxford • 908/453-4381


Tuesday, June 25 • THE ZYDECO REVELATORS. Morris Arts, Morristown • 973/285-5115


Thursday, June 27 • HUNTERDON SYMPHONY. Hunterdon Parks Music Under the Stars, Readington Township • 908/782-1158


Saturday, June 29 • SYCAMORE BANJO BAND & SKYLANDS DULCIMER BAND. Ramsaysburg Concerts at the Barn, Columbia • 908/496-4273


Sunday, June 30 • CIROTTI AND ALEXANDER + NOBLE BLOOD. Americana Roots Shippen Manor Concerts, Oxford • 908/453-4381


Thursday, July 4 • INDEPENDENCE DAY FIREWORKS. Stone Flower, Tyrone Stackhouse, food for purchase. Somerset Concert Series in the Park, Bridgewater • 908/722-1200


Sunday, July 7 • JOBONANNO & THE GODSONS. Spirit of Asbury Revue Somerset Concert Series in the Park, Bridgewater • 908/722-1200


Sunday, July 7 • ZAIRE. Classic Rock Shippen Manor Concerts, Oxford • 908/453-4381


Tuesday, July 9 • ARMANDO SON JIMENEZ’ GRUPO SABOR. Colombian Salsa Morris Arts, Morristown • 973/285-5115


Thursday, July 11 • CAPTAIN JACK. Hunterdon Parks Music Under the Stars, Readington Township • 908/782-1158


Thursday, July 11-14 • BLACK POTATOE MUSIC FESTIVAL. Clinton


Saturday, July 13-21 • NEWSIES. Country Gate Players, Belvidere • 908/475-1104


Sunday, July 14 • MOTOR CITY REVUE. Somerset Concert Series in the Park, Bridgewater • 908/722-1200


Sunday, July 14 • MOSS HENRY & BRYOPHYTES. Unrepentant Honky Tonk Shippen Manor Concerts, Oxford • 908/453-4381


Thursday, July 18 • SLIPPERY WHEN WET. Hunterdon Parks Music Under the Stars, Readington Township • 908/782-1158


Sunday, July 21 • NEW POWER SOUL. Somerset Concert Series in the Park, Bridgewater • 908/722-1200


Sunday, July 21 • POOR MAN’S GAMBIT. Irish Shippen Manor Concerts, Oxford • 908/453-4381


Tuesday, July 23 • FORESTDANCE. Music of Africa Morris Arts, Morristown • 973/285-5115


Thursday, July 25 • AMISH OUTLAWS. Hunterdon Parks Music Under the Stars, Readington Township • 908/782-1158


Saturday, July 27 • NANCY & SPENCER REED QUARTET. Lively jazz and vocal harmonies. Ramsaysburg Concerts at the Barn, Columbia • 908/496-4273


Sunday, July 28 • THE CAMEOS. Somerset Concert Series in the Park, Bridgewater • 908/722-1200


Sunday, July 28 • KINDERHOOK. Country & Folk Shippen Manor Concerts, Oxford • 908/453-4381


Thursday, August 1 • HUNTERDON HARMONIZERS. Hunterdon Parks Music Under the Stars, Readington Township • 908/782-1158


Sunday, August 4 • THE INFERNOS. Somerset Concert Series in the Park, Bridgewater • 908/722-1200


Sunday, August 4 • PYRENESIA. Gypsy Folk and Hot Jazz Shippen Manor Concerts, Oxford • 908/453-4381


Tuesday, August 6 • MARIACHI CITLALLI. A taste of Mexico Morris Arts, Morristown • 973/285-5115


Thursday, August 8 • THE MORRISTONES. Hunterdon Parks Music Under the Stars, Readington Township • 908/782-1158


Sunday, August 11 • 5TH ANNUAL FOOD TRUCK FEST. Andy B., The Fabulous Greaseband Somerset Concert Series in the Park, Bridgewater • 908/722-1200


Sunday, August 11 • GITAN MAGIQUE. Gypsy jazz. Enjoy the farm’s delicious foods which are available for purchase; BYOB. Bobolink Dairy and Bakeyard, Milford • 908/864-7277


Sunday, August 11 • STONEHEARTH BLUEGRASS BAND. Classic Bluegrass Shippen Manor Concerts, Oxford • 908/453-4381


Thursday, August 15 • BEST OF THE EAGLES. Hunterdon Parks Music Under the Stars, Readington Township • 908/782-1158


Friday, August 16 • TAB BENOIT. The Newton Theatre, Newton • 973/383-3700


Sunday, August 18 • RAVE ON. Holly/Orbison Tribute Shippen Manor Concerts, Oxford • 908/453-4381


Friday, August 23-24 • UKULELE FESTIVAL. Concerts, workshops, vendors, open mics, jams and more! This festival will interest long-time uke players, beginning uke players and anyone who has ever been curious about the instrument. The Folk Project, Whippany • 973/370-4UKE (4853)


Sunday, August 25 • THIS WAY TO THE EGRESS. Steam Punk/Dark Caberet Shippen Manor Concerts, Oxford • 908/453-4381


Saturday, August 31 • MICHAEL JORGENSON CLASSICAL STRING TRIO. Performing J. S. Bach’s Goldberg Variations Ramsaysburg Concerts at the Barn, Columbia • 908/496-4273


Sunday, September 1 • PADDY AND THE PALE BOYS. Irish Pub Music Shippen Manor Concerts, Oxford • 908/453-4381


Friday, September 6-8 • CELEBRATION OF THE ARTS. The annual COTA festival brings world-class jazz ensembles to the Delaware Water Gap for three days of performance. Festival site activities include food concessions, arts and crafts booths, strolling musicians, a monitored childrens’ area, storytelling and other surprises during stage changes. Plenty of free parking, a rain tent in case of inclement weather, and handicapped facilities are provided. COTA Jazz and Arts, Delaware Water Gap, PA • 570/424-2210


Sunday, September 22 • DAVID AMRAM WITH FAMILY AND FRIENDS. Iconic music legend spanning multiple genres and generations of jazz, classical, and world music. Enjoy the farm’s delicious foods which are available for purchase; BYOB. Bobolink Dairy and Bakeyard, Milford • 908/864-7277


Thursday, September 26-28 • AIKEN & FRIENDS. Mini fest includes songwriter workshops and concert. The Theatre at RVCC, North Branch • 908/725-3420


Saturday, September 28-6 • SWEENEY TODD. Country Gate Players, Belvidere • 908/475-1104


Saturday, December 14-22 • A CHRISTMAS STORY. Country Gate Players, Belvidere • 908/475-1104

Stay in the Loop!

Get our newsletter, This Week in the NJ Skylands, with updates, special offers and good ideas!

Read current newsletter

Privacy Statement